I Watched The Debate While Monitoring My Vital Signs And Holy Crap It Was Stressful

Talk about fight or flight.

This election season has been stressful.

https://instagram.com/p/BLXUiVmjyih/embed/

Every day (every moment?) there’s reason anew to be anxious about November 8, which is why the simple act of watching a debate can be…tense.

Instagram: @buzzfeed

In fact, I actually skipped watching Trump and Clinton in the first debate, because I just didn’t have the emotional bandwidth to bear witness that day.

In fact, I actually skipped watching Trump and Clinton in the first debate, because I just didn't have the emotional bandwidth to bear witness that day.

Sally Tamarkin / BuzzFeed News

So, I watched the debate wearing a Fitbit Charge HR and a Withings blood pressure monitor.

So, I watched the debate wearing a Fitbit Charge HR and a Withings blood pressure monitor.

Because I’m a fitness editor and this sounded like a normal thing to do.

I took my heart rate and blood pressure throughout the debate to see how my body responded to every stressful moment, from discussion of Hot Mic-ageddon to mentions of Deplorablesgate. (Gadget rental company Lumoid lent us the wearables for this experiment.)

Sally Tamarkin / BuzzFeed News


View Entire List ›

