This Man Shared Photo Of His Colostomy Bag And Scars To Raise Awareness For Prostate Cancer

“Maybe they’ll see me and say, ‘I don’t want to go through that.'”

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This is Kurt Jewson, a 44-year-old business owner, husband, and father-of-two from Helston, England.

 
 

This is Kurt Jewson, a 44-year-old business owner, husband, and father-of-two from Helston, England.

 
 
 
 
 

Twitter: @kurtjewson

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

In the summer of 2014, Jewson went to the doctor for a checkup after he discovered blood in his urine. The doctor recommended more tests, but Jewson didn’t follow through. A year later, he found out that blood was an early symptom of cancer.

 
 

In the summer of 2014, Jewson went to the doctor for a checkup after he discovered blood in his urine. The doctor recommended more tests, but Jewson didn't follow through. A year later, he found out that blood was an early symptom of cancer.

 
 
 
 
 

Twitter: @kurtjewson

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

On Jan. 28, Jewson shared this photo to show his surgical scars and colostomy bag that are a result of his prostate cancer treatment.

 
 

View Video ›

 
 
 
 
 

Facebook: kjewson

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Ok, have been thinking about this for a while. Here I am in all my tubby, pale & middle aged (I’m 44) glory.

 
 

I’ve got a catheter, stoma ( colostomy bag ), scars where you can see them, scars where you can’t, and hormone implants below my skin.

 
 

I have another operation to come, and then radio and/or chemo therapy.

 

 
 

Why am I posting this?

 
 

Well, in the summer of 2014 I had blood in my urine. Went to the GP and he said that it was probably just an infection and would clear up. It did.

 

 
 

However, it wasn’t an infection. It was a symptom of Prostate Cancer.

 
 

If my GP had simply taken some blood, and sent it off for a PSA test ( the test for prostate cancer…it’s NOT a finger up the ass… That comes later! ) Then we would have caught this at an early, and much more manageable stage.

 
 

There are many symptoms. I urge all the men to spend five minutes here

 
 

http://prostatecanceruk.org/

 

 
 

It could save your life. Prostate cancer is becoming more prevalent in “younger” men. Men our age. If you have blood in your urine, or any other symptom listed on Prostate Cancer UK’s website, then get a blood PSA test.

 
 

Insist upon it.

 

 
 

If I had known earlier, then my treatment and prognosis would have been so different.

 
 

As it was, my cancer was free to grow and grow for another 12 months without anyone knowing.

 
 

So, there you go.

 
 

Sorry to be so serious, but 1 in 8 of you (for that’s how many men will get prostate cancer) will bloody thank me one day!

 

 
 

Cheers

 
 

Kurt

 
 

PS

 
 

Feel free to share, if you want. It’s too important for me to be vain about.

 

 
 
 
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 

View Entire List ›

